WHO

Who is this God
of whom they sing joyous songs
for whom they build giant cathedrals
and speak in measured words
rich and full with meaning
or simply full of volume

I’ve seen Him or Her or Source
it matters not the name

God was there,
in a thousand hills when I felt awe
in mighty rivers when I felt their power
in trickling stream when I heard the music
in the sheltering might of giant Sequoias
and in a crowded mall
where a child smiled his delight

God is there
wherever I find lifted spirit
or feel renewed strength
or my heart becomes filled with wonder
or thought is sent with silent glance
or I waken with joy to coming day
But all my senses must be willing

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHO

  1. Ann Douglas says:

    This is beautiful, Gus. I love it!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

