DRINK MORE TEA

Pekoe, herbals, plain green tea
all taste about the same to me.
No drink to smooth my daily mood,
I just drink tea with Chinese food.

When dining out across the South,
strange assaults upon my mouth.
They poured a cooling glass to me,
one part sugar and one part tea.

On a recent visit to a local bar,
I was introduced to a liquid star,
a jolt to the senses for thee and me,
an icy glass of Long Island Tea.

Whiskey, tequila, gin, and rum,
an ounce of each to make me numb.
Add some flavor and splash on ice,
thinned with cola. Oh, so nice.

And that, my friend, is Long Island Tea.
There’sh two of you. How many of me?

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DRINK MORE TEA

  1. C Ford says:

    Oh you had too much fun with this one!! Little did I know my old Dad even new what a Long Island Tea was?!?! He’s way more hip than we presumed 🙂

    Like

  2. Ann Douglas says:

    Loving Long Island Iced Tea, I very much enjoyed this little ditty.

    Like

  3. MaryJo Comins says:

    What a delight, Gus! I’m glad I discovered your blog.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

