I’VE ERRED

I’VE ERRED

I’ve erred
when I cast uninformed judgment
without giving ear to their reasons.
Let me first understand.

I’ve erred
when I found someone wanting,
and I hadn’t walked in his shoes,
Let me first look into his heart.

I’ve erred
when I believed their task easy,
but had not viewed the obstructions.
Let me choose to first look with their eyes.

I’ve erred
when I thought they didn’t love,
but had not yet opened my own heart.
Let me breathe, feel, and accept.

I have and will again
give offense to another with words,
perhaps unkind or unmeant.
Let me choose my words in love.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’VE ERRED

  1. I believe everyone’s life is more complicated that we know, even our own. Easy to believe, hard to remember.

    Like

  2. C Ford says:

    Let me walk in their shoes before I pass judgment or make hasty comment…. Easily said, hard to do though

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

