CHANGE

There is a special moment
>when I can decide
how to live my life,
and that is
each moment.

There is no moment
when I can decide
how you
shall live yours.

CHANGE A CHILD

I sought to push a child,
he showed resistance.

I sought to tell a child
he showed indifference.

I began to show a child
he showed mild interest.

I learned to lead the child
he showed me his skill.

I chose to work with him
he showed me himself.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CHANGE

  1. MaryJo Comins says:

    These ring oh so true, Gus. The only one I can change is myself. In terms of the child, my best learning is when I join the child within me who is resistant. Thank you for your wisdom!

    Like

  2. Ann Douglas says:

    Very nice, Gus. And so true.

    Like

  3. davinew says:

    Watch out, Gus, maybe too much wisdom here

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

