CONCIOUSNESS

I breathe,
Slowly, deeply.
seeking the calm within
focus only on my breath
to quiet the world outside.

As I breathe,
the life forces of the universe
rush to fill my body with oxygen
and refresh my heart’s fluids.

I breathe,
known scents cross my mind,
lover’s perfume that lures anew,
the bouquet from a garden’s flowers,
tantalizing aroma of fresh baked bread,
new-mown grass toasting in the sun.

Remembered soothing sounds,
breezes whispering through trees,
chirps from morning birds,
the soft hum of tires on well paved roads,
and small children laughing at play.

The breathing brings soothing calm,
with acceptance of the trials of life,
in right balance with all life’s good—
if I but remember.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CONCIOUSNESS

  1. Love the last line, now what was it?

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

