THE CRYSTAL CHANDELIER

No one knew from whence it came
its pendants, tubes on dusty arms,
wires long coiled await in vain
for the power to show its charms.

It hangs there in a once-white church,
clapboards pitted now by blowing sand,
on the edge of a dry and windswept town,
the only spot of beauty in church or land. .

Inside the church, splintered benches
askew on dark and dusty floor,
ragged muslin curtained windows
masking it from light and more.

A waste of beauty in that deserted church,
that desolate town, hopes gone for rebirth.
Chances gone to connect with source
to reveal their latent worth.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE CRYSTAL CHANDELIER

  1. oneta hayes says:

    Beautiful. You are such a good poet. I always love what you write. And my age probably lends itself to my appreciation of your subject matter!

    Like

    • degus221 says:

      Thank you, Oneta.
      And I always appreciate your comments.

      I guess it is safe to assume that you may have lived in some of my many decades.

      Like

      • oneta hayes says:

        Yes, if you are counting decades, I’m in my ninth, 81 years. Still blessed to have my spouse of sixty-two years. Just wrote a blog “Wonder of Wonders” regarding my love story of those many years ago. If you have a bit, hop over and read it. I’m still in the dark about links but maybe this will work onetahayes.com

        Like

      • degus221 says:

        Yes, you are much younger!!!!

        I will try and access your Wonder of Wonders.

        Like

Please Leave a Reply

