SHARED SILENCE

Speak to me in silence.
Let your friendly smile tell me
you wish me well as we revel
together as one in this world
Offering beauty in its abundance.

Speak to me with a wink of eye,
sharing the world’s frivolity,
forgive the hour admiring a rose over long,
for minutes spent laughing with a child
or at the child within us both.

Speak to me with a warm hug,
or if too personal, a clasped hand.
We who are one with humanity
need reminding often,
humanness grows best in sharing.

Speak to me with glowing eyes
reflecting your joy that the
surrounding world pleases you,
takes you beyond yourself
and you wish to share it with me.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

