My CREATION

If I were someone else,
who would I choose to be?
I’m the one that I created.
I’ll not give up on me.

The life I’ve lived was filled with joy,
some pain, more love, more care.
Where I’ve fallen short of aim
revealed a fuller share.

No cosmic  force has shaped me,
not genes, nor fate, nor scam.
For each effect there is a cause.
I caused the who I am.

There were those who prodded.
who nudged, who led my hand.
They let me make my own mistakes
as now I understand.

Sometimes I chose to flounder
or want a different row.
We don’t select our garden space,
but choose how far we grow.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My CREATION

  1. oneta hayes says:

    Accepting accountability. So many do not; there seems to always be somebody or something to blame. Love your poems.

    Like

  2. C Ford says:

    For everyone who likes to blame their parents, siblings, society, etc. for their poor choices. This says it all. As always, nicely done Dad. Now, if only you’d raised me better!

    Like

  3. Deepak Singh says:

    Thanks for the beautiful comment. Or, I did rather say, “for the flower you planted in my garden.” Your poems are awesome!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

