SAD STORIES

I was unable to write today.
A frenzied fly tormented me so,
flitting about, to and fro.
I was unable to write today.

I couldn’t cook dinner today,
The cookbook open, oven warm,
roast was thawed, but no marjoram.
We’ll order in pizza tonight.

I didn’t wash the car today.
It really looked like rain.
Your keys weren’t on your dresser.
Tomorrow I’ll try again.

I missed your sermon yesterday
For out-of-town friends of mine.
They finally arrived. almost noon.
I heard your sermon was fine

No, was I really going that fast?
This car is quite new to me.
Cars behind were pushing me so.
Traffic flow is vital, you agree?

The lipstick on my collar?
Of course, dear, I know.
I saw it before I left for work
And believe it wouldn’t show.

Gus Daum

About degus221

A Kansan who has migrated to Oregon.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SAD STORIES

  1. MaryJo says:

    These are fun to read, Gus. Hope I’m not the only one who identifies with them!

    Like

  2. oneta hayes says:

    Excuses, excuses. Think anybody is buying them?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gus, as always a nice touch of dearness from your pen – Love the images and the sentiment – I recognize it well…

    Like

  4. Carol Ford says:

    Your humorous “stories” are so fun to read. Keep them coming, unless you have some excuse for not writing 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

